About Us

NHIF Building New

The NHIF Building

Community Area, Ragati Road

About NHIF

National Health Insurance Fund is a State Parastatal that was established in 1966 as a department under the Ministry of Health. The original Act of Parliament that set up this Fund in 1966 has over the years been reviewed to accommodate the changing healthcare needs of the Kenyan population, employment and restructuring in the health sector.

Currently an NHIF Act No 9 of 1998 governs the Fund. The transformation of NHIF from a department of the Ministry of Health to a State of Corporation was aimed at improving effectiveness and efficiency. The Fund’s core mandate is to provide medical insurance cover to all its members and their declared dependants (spouse and children).

The NHIF membership is open to all Kenyans who have attained the age of 18 years. NHIF has 95 fully autonomous branches, satellite offices and a presence in the 47 Huduma Centers across the country. Each of these branches and satellite offices offer comprehensive customer service.


To be the trusted and valued partner in Securing the health of our community.


To enhance equitable and sustainable health and wellbeing of our community, cushioning them from financial hardship.


1. To increase revenue collection
2. To Engage & Educate Customers
3. To Enhance Operational Excellence
4. To Manage Risk
5. To Build a high-performance Culture

Core Values

  • Find a Better Way
  • We Make a Difference
  • We Win Together
  • Do The Right Thing
  • Board of Directors

    Eng. Michael Kamau

    Eng. Michael S. M. Kamau, CBS, HSC


    Elijah Wachira

    Mr. Elijah Wachira


    Mystery Man

    Harry Kimutai

    Permanent Secretary, Medical Services

    Dr. Rachael Monyoncho II

    Dr. Rachael Monyoncho

    Federation of Kenyan Employees (FKE)

    Dr. Andrew Were

    Dr. Andrew Were

    Kenya Medical Association

    Mr. Albert Obed Njeru

    Mr. Albert Obed Njeru

    Central Organization of Trade Unions (COTU)

    Irine Ogamba 1

    Ms. Irene Ogamba

    Council of Governors

    Dennis Gitari 1

    Mr. Dennis M. Gitari

    Council of Governors

    Andrew Mugambi 1

    Mr. Andrew Mugambi

    CS Appointee

    Dr. Jason Kapkirwok 1

    Dr. Jason Kap-kirwok

    CS Appointee


    Elijah Wachira

    Mr. Elijah Wachira

    Chief Executive Officer

    Hazel Koitaba

    Ms. Hazel Koitaba

    Director Beneficiary & Provider Management

    Ibrahim Mohammed Alio

    Mr. Ibrahim Mohamed Alio

    Director, Corporate Services

    Pariken Ole Sankei

    Pariken Ole Sankei

    Director, Internal Audit

    Catherine Mungania

    Ms. Catherine Mungania

    Corporation Secretary/Director Legal Services

    Mr. Robert Ingasira

    Mr. Robert Ingasira

    Director, Financial Services

    Martin Ayoo

    Mr. Martin Ayoo

    Director, Information & Communication Technology

    Skip to content